//
you're reading...
Movies

My Top 5 Favourite Movies of the 90s

This weekend I had the opportunity to relive some childhood memories as I visited my local cinema to see the recently re-released Jurassic Park.

Originally released in 1993, the film was a ground breaking production from director Steven Spielberg. With incredible special effects and a wonderful cast, the movie wowed audiences around the world and rightly deserves its place as one of the best films of the 1990s.

With that in mind, I started to think about my favourite films of the 90s and which had the greatest influence on me. So, here are my five favourite movies of the 1990s. 

1) Mrs Doubtfire

This had to be part of my list as it is a movie that I can watch over and overagain without it ever becoming repetitive. Robin Williams has never been better as a divorced father of three who takes the drastic action of dressing up as an elderly Scottish nanny, in order to see his children. The film moves along at a break-neck speed and is full of gags. There are so many jokes that I can find new ones each time I watch it. The excellent performance of Williams is backed up with strong supporting roles from Sally Field and Pierce Brosnan, which gives this comedy real heart.

2) Home Alone

I had a problem with this selection. Not a problem in the sense of deciding whether it merited inclusion, but rather which Home Alone should appear on the list. I have a very soft spot for Home Alone 2: Lost in New York and was desperately trying to weigh up which of the two films deserved a place in my top 5. Although after much sole searching I decided to include the 1990 original. This was the film that shot child star Macauley Culkin to stardom. I remember watching this as a child and being enthralled by the idea of this boy outsmarting seasoned criminals. The film is made believable by stellar performances from Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern with a great cameo from John Candy.

3) JFK

Not just one of my favourite films of the 1990s, but perhaps ever. Directed by Oliver Stone, this is a three hour marathon that investigates the death of President John F Kennedy through the eyes of District Attorney Jim Garrison. Shot with stunning detail with the incredible Oscar winning calibre cast of Kevin Costner, Joe Pesci, Gary Oldman, Kevin Bacon and John Candy, the film twists, turns and teases effortlessly.   

4) The Lion King

While I have really enjoyed some of Pixar’s offerings in recent years like Toy Story, Cars and Up for me there is still nothing better than watching the hand drawn cartoon creations that Disney were producing in the 1990s. While an honourable mention should be given to Beauty and the Beast, I decided to include The Lion King in my list. Not only is the story incredibly inspiring, but has an electrifying soundtrack written and sung by Elton John.

 

5) Cool Runnings

You will have seen a pattern emerging as this film marks the third in the list featuring the legendary John Candy. Here he stars as a disgraced former athlete who has agreed to put together the first ever Jamaican bobsleigh team. After several false starts and much hilarity, the team reaches the Olympics where they win the hearts of the crowd and their fellow competitors. This film has the rare combination of not only being funny, but discussing serious issues that give it real depth. What makes it even more poignant is this would be one of John Candy’s last films before his death in 1994.

It was very difficult to narrow this list down to just five. So, I want to give honourable mentions to Ace Ventura: Pet Detective, The Shawshank Redemption, Independence Day, The Mighty Ducks and Liar Liar.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “My Top 5 Favourite Movies of the 90s

  1. I miss 90s films, aha.

    Posted by jeffreyhocevar | October 2, 2011, 3:01 pm
    • Are we seperated at birth? If I were to do a similar list it would be near identical with a possible alteration in the numberings.

      The only one I haven’t seen (to my horror I must admit) is JFK which I really must put right sometime soon.

      Posted by Mark Cole | October 2, 2011, 5:04 pm
  2. Yeah these are great movies and really stand the test of time. I watched Mrs Doubtfire the other day and it is still as original as when I saw it for the first time.

    Mark – I’m glad that I’m not the only one who loves these movies. We obviously both have great taste in films. But I would definitely recommend you check out JFK if you get a chance it is a top film.

    Posted by Paul Renwick | October 3, 2011, 9:31 am

Leave a Reply

