//
you're reading...
Movies, Uncategorized

My Top 10 Favourite Christmas Songs – Part One

Now that December has arrived the radio airwaves are filled with Christmas tunes. This has led to a very heated debate amongst people in my office as to what they believe is the best festive song.

So, in the spirit of a festive Top of the Pops, I have decided to give you a countdown of my top 10 favourite Christmas songs. I will split this post into two parts with the first part covering positions 10 to 6:

10) Band Aid – Do They Know Its Christmas

I could not have put together a list of my favourite Christmas songs without including this one. While the song is excellent it is almost secondary to the impact that the song made in fighting world hunger. Shocked by a news report showing the extent of the famine in Ethiopia, Bob Geldof put together a collection of the world’s biggest popstars to record a song to raise funds. The song would go straight to number one selling over three million copies making it the biggest selling single in history at the time.

9) Mariah Carey – All I want for Christmas is You

It is difficult to describe just how spectacular Mariah Carey’s voice is in this song. The range of vocals that she displays shows why she is arguably one of the world’s best ever female singers. This is coupled by the fact that the song has the wonderful message that Christmas is not about receiving material items, but about being with the people that you love.

8. Jona Lewie – Stop the Cavalry

Whenever I listen to this song I always struggle to hear and understand all the lyrics. However, what makes this song a favourite of mine is the incredibly uplifting musical accompaniment. If someone asked me to describe what Christmas would sound like in musical form it would be the tune for this track.

7) Brenda Lee – Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree

The first time I ever heard this song was in the movie Home Alone and I have loved it ever since. It is the perfect song to have in the background at a festive party and always creates a great atmosphere for when you are eating your mince pies and drinking your mulled wine.

6) Wizard – I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday

I must confess that this is my Christmas karaoke favourite. There have been countless occasions over a festive season where I have grabbed a microphone to sing (badly) this unforgettable Christmas classic. The beauty of the song is that no matter how badly I or anyone else sings it, you are guaranteed to get the audience to scream along to the memorable chorus.

In the next few days I will be posting part 2, which will countdown my top 5 Christmas songs.

Discussion

One thought on “My Top 10 Favourite Christmas Songs – Part One

  1. I like the Bing Crosby’s White Christmas can’t go through Xmas without listening to it at least 12 times in the shops and in the pub. Brenda Lee’s Rockin around the Christmas Tree is also a fave. I think its timeless

    Posted by CD packaging | December 7, 2011, 7:32 am

Leave a Reply

